Obstacle #8: Procrastination

“Procrastination is the Thief of Time.” – Joseph Heller

Today’s topic: procrastination. Need I say more? …

No really, do I? Because, this is what procrastination looks like, for any aspect of your life:

Monday: Oh man, I have [this thing] to do by Friday! … I’ll think about it tomorrow.
Tuesday: Hmm… what should I do for [that thing]? … Oh well, I still got three ish more days. Look, cats!
Wednesday: I guess today’s the day! I can get [it] out of the way and– oh look at the time, nope, guess I’ll do it tomorrow after all. Hi tumblr!
Thursday: Alright, [it]’s gotta be done by tomorrow, so it’s today or never! … But ehh… Oh look, bunnies!
Friday: Shit, I gotta whip something up. WhatshouldIdo, whatshouldIdoooo–!
Less than an hour later: Huh, that wasn’t so bad, why didn’t I do it on Monday like I said I would?? Anyway, gotta catch up on [Game of Thrones] this weekend!

So yeah. Procrastination, it’s such a love-hate-love relationship with you! I have really good days, productive days even! Just– not for what I wanted to get done.

Exhibit A: I’m gonna get home, do the dishes, put laundry away, do another laundry, make dinner and sit down and write! (Writing being what I really want to accomplish, the rest are just chores I have to really should get done beforehand.)

Reality: And– nope. I get home, I’m tired, I do the damn dishes, maybe stuff the laundry in a pile somewhere, make dinner or go to my “I don’t feel like cooking” savior soba and then… I’m tired, I can’t think, even less write (in a way that’s satisfying).

Rinse, wash and repeat.

Oh hey, my “I-don’t-know-what-else-to-write-but-everyone-deals-with-procrastination-right?” post is much much longer than I thought it would be! Hooray for me. *self five*

Well, procrastinators, what are we waiting for? Let’s band together and kick our procrastinating butts into shape! Unite!
… Ok, well, maybe tomorrow– then? …

P.S: Despite my really late dinner after a rather tiring day, how did I manage to write this on Wednesday? Another *self five* for that. (No but really I have 5 days off so I needed to write it before hand in case I forget… Let’s hear it for scheduled publishing button!) Have a great Friday and an even better weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

